85 Blue Flags awarded to Irish beaches & marinas

  • 79 Irish beaches and six marinas awarded Blue Flags
  • Ballymoney North & Fenit Marina first time winners
  • Brittas Bay North regains flag
  • 4 beaches lose blue flag statue

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA79 Irish beaches and six marinas in Ireland have been awarded Blue Flag awards this year, down one on last year.

Among the recipients of Blue Flags are Ballymoney North Beach in Wexford, winning the award for the first time. Brittas Bay North in Co Wicklow regained the Blue Flag it lost last year while Fenit Marina in Co Kerry has been awarded the Blue Flag for the first time.

Three beaches that received Blue Flags in 2015, Redbarn and Garretstown in Co Cork and Portrane in Dublin, did not this year meet the excellent water quality standard required for Blue Flag status. Ross Strand in Co Mayo was not awarded the Blue Flag due to there being less lifeguard cover than advised during in-season control visits.

Other notable absentees form the list are Dublin beaches Dollymount and Malahide,  Cork beaches Garretstown, Garryvoe, The Warren (Rosscarbery), Youghal Claycastle andYoughal Front Strand, and Sligo beaches Enniscrone and Mullaghmore,

The awards are administered in Ireland by An Taisce in an international scheme that involves more than 60 countries.

Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government Simon Coveney said at the  presentation of 141 awards  in Dublin. “We cannot rest on our laurels and must continue to make strident efforts to protect and improve our waters. This will ensure that we, and future generations, can continue to enjoy this wonderful resource.”

  • Antrim Ballycastle Marina, Carrickfergus Marina,
  • Clare Ballycuggeran, Clare, Cappa Pier, Fanore, Kilkee, Lahinch, Mountshannon, Spanish Point, White Strand Doonbeg, White Strand Miltown Malbay,
  • Cork Barleycove, Royal Cork Yacht Club Carrigaline, Garrylucas, Inchdoney, Kinsale Yacht Club, Owenahincha,  Tragumna,
  • Derry Downhill, Magilligan/ Benone Strand, Portrush East Strand,Portrush West Strand, Portstewart Strand, White Rocks (Portrush),
  • Donegal Bundoran, Carrickfinn, Culdaff, Downings, Fintra, Killahoey, Lisfannon, Marblehill, Murvagh, Portnoo/ Naran, Portsalon, Rossnowlagh, Stroove,
  • Down Bangor Marina, Cranfield West, Tyrella,
  • Dublin: Balcarrick, Donabate, Killiney, Portmarnock, Seapoint,
  • Galway An Trá Mór (Inverin), Cill Muirbhthe (Aran), Loughrea Bathing Place, Trá an Doilín (An Cheathrú Rua), Traught, Salthill, Silverstrand,
  • Kerry Banna, Ballyheigue, Ballinskelligs, Ballybunion North, Ballybunion South, Derrynane, Fenit, Kells, Inch, Magherabeg, Rossbeigh, Ventry, White Strand Caherciveen,
  • Louth Clogherhead, Port, Templeton
  • Mayo Bertra, Carrowmore, The Harbour (Clare Island), Dooega, Dugort, Elly Bay, Golden Strand, Keel, Keem, Mullaghroe, Mulranny,
  • Sligo Rosses Point,
  • Waterford Clonea, Councillors Strand, Dunmore Strand, Tramore,
  • Westmeath: Killinure Point Marina
  • Wexford Ballinesker, Ballymoney North, Courtown, Curracloe, Kilmore Quay Marina, Morriscastle, New Ross Three Sisters Marina, Rosslare, Rosslare Strand
  • Wicklow Brittas Bay North, Brittas Bay South Greystones,





About Author

Travel Extra

Ireland's premier source of travel information

Comments are closed.