Ireland has record 16 Michelin Stars as Chestnut Ballydehob, Ichigo Ichie Cork & Mews Baltimore join list

  • 16 Michelin Star restaurants
  • 7 Leinster, 5 Munster, 2 Connacht, 2 Ulster

Takashi Miyazaki’

Ireland now has a record 16 Michelin Star restaurants as three Cork restaurants were added to the list for 2018 compiled by the international inspection-review guide:

They join

  • Martijn Kajuiter’s Cliff House in Ardmore (Michelin starred since 2010),
  • Michael Deane’s Eipic in Belfast (since 2016),
  • Stephen Toma’s Oxx in Belfast (since 2016),
  • Andrew Heron and Damien Grey’s Heron and Gray in Blackrock Co Dublin (since 2017),
  • Guillaume Lebrun’s Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud in the Merrion Hotel (one star 1990-5, two Michelin stars since 1996),
  • Ross Lewis’s Chapter One on Parnell Square (since 2007),
  • Derry and Sally Clarke’s L’Ecrivain on Baggot St in Dublin (since 2003),
  • Mickael Viljanen’s The Greenhouse on Dawson St, Dublin (since 2016),
  • Ultan Cooke’s Aniar (since 2013) in Galway
  • Enda McEvoy’s Loam (since 2016) in Galway (Enda was previously chef with Aniar),
  • Gareth Byrne’s Campagne in Kilkenny (since 2014),
  • Cormac Rowe’s Lady Helen in Kilkenny (since 2014),
  • Aidan McGraths Wild Honey Inn in Lisdoonvarna (since 2018).

Previous kitchens to receive the award were

  • Kei Pilz’s Shiro in Ahakista Co Cork (2001),
  • Peter Robinson’s Armstrong’s Bar in Annamoe, Co Wicklow (1977),
  • Stefan Matz’s Erriseask House in Ballyconneely (2000-1)
  • Robbie Millar’s Shanks in Bangor (1996-2005),
  • Michael Deane’s in Belfast (2001-10),
  • Paul Rankin’s Roscoff’s in Belfast (1991-8),
  • Declan Ryan and Michael Ryan’s Arbutus Lodge in Cork (1974-83, 1987-8),
  • George and Christiane Graves‘ Ballylickey House in Co Cork (1975),
  • Myrtle Allen’s Ballymaloe House in Co Cork (1975-80),
  • Hans Peter Matthiae’s Chez Hans in Cashel (1983),
  • Michael Clifford and Declan Ryan’s Cashel Palace Hotel (1982-3),
  •  Jean Baptiste Molinar’s Dromoland Castle(1995),
  • Aiden Byrne’s The Commons in Dublin (2002),
  • Rory Carville’s Lock’s Brasserie in Dublin (2013),
  • Conrad Gallagher’s Peacock Alley originally in Baggot Street and then in FitzWilliam hotel Dublin (1998, 2001-2),
  • Kevin Thornton‘s, originally on Portobello Road then in Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin (1996-2015),
  • Matt Dowling and Pierre Roland’s Russell Hotel in Dublin (1974),
  • Catherine Healys Dunderry Lodge in Dunderry Co Meath (1986-9),
  • Barry Smyth’s The Oriel in Gilford Co Down (2004-5),
  • Dean’s on the Square in Helen’s Bay (1997),
  • Park Hotel in Kenmare (1983-90 and 1994-9, chefs Colin O’Daly 1983-1985, Brian Cleere 1994-5, Bruno Schmidt (1996-7 and Matthew d’Arcy 1998-9)
  • Fergus Moore’s Sheen Falls in Kenmare (1993-8),
  • Dylan McGrath’s Mint in Ranelagh, Dublin (2008-9) a
  • Michel Flammes K Club in Straffan (1993-4).
The following two tabs change content below.
Travel Extra

Travel Extra

Ireland's premier source of travel information




About Author

Travel Extra

Ireland's premier source of travel information

Leave A Reply